## **City of Enid**

# Transportation Technical Committee of the Chisholm Trail Metropolitan Planning Organization Minutes

The Transportation Technical Committee of the Chisholm Trail Metropolitan Planning Organization of the City of Enid, County of Garfield, State of Oklahoma, met in special session at 1:30 PM on Tuesday, May 21, 2024, in Room 403/404 of the Stride Bank Center, located at 301 South Independence Avenue, pursuant to notice provided to the Clerk of the City of Enid no less than forty-eight hours prior to the meeting, and which notice was posted no later than 1:30 PM on the 20th day of May, 2024. The minutes for said meeting are as follows:

### 1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL.

Chairman Jerald Gilbert called the meeting to order with the following members present and absent:

PRESENT: Enid City Manager Jerald Gilbert, Enid Director of Engineering Murali Katta, Treasurer of the Enid Public Transportation Authority Erin Crawford, Aviation Director of Woodring Airport Keston Cook, Enid Community Development Director Leroy Alsup, Representative of the Town of North Enid Jason Dockins, Executive Director of the Greater Enid Chamber of Commerce Jon Blankenship, Representative of NORTPO Brock Spencer, and ODOT Government Affairs Planning Branch Manager Designee Sarah McElroy.

ABSENT: ODOT District IV Rural Construction Engineer Ted Zachary, ODOT Government Affairs Planning Branch Manager Laura Chaney, Multimodal Division Office of Mobility and Public Transit Manager Eric Rose, FTA Regional IV Community Planner Marc Oliphant and FHWA Division Community Planner Isaac Akem.

Others present were Enid City Attorney Carol Lahman, Enid Public Transportation Authority General Manager Demetria Dixon, Enid City Clerk Summer Anderson, NODA Economic Development Director Vicki Eggers, and Enid City Engineer Jason Unruh.

#### 2. MINUTES.

1. Consider approval of minutes of the Transportation Technical Committee Special Meeting of March 20, 2024.

Moved by Erin Crawford, seconded by Keston Cook, to approve the minutes of the Transportation Technical Committee Special Meeting of March 20, 2024.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

#### 3. BUSINESS.

1. Review and recommend approval of the Public Participation Plan (PPP).

Sarah McElroy explained that this was a federally required plan, which went into detail about the documents that were required, and how long they had to go out for public comment. The PPP had gone through a forty-five day public comment period, with no comments received. It was common for MPO's to amend their PPP every five to ten years, with a new public comment period required for amendments.

Moved by Brock Spencer, seconded by Jason Dockins, to recommend approval of the Public Participation Plan (PPP) to the Transportation Policy Board.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

Review and recommend approval of the MOU for Performance Targets.

Ms. McElroy explained that the MOU for Performance Targets was a required document which outlined that the Chisholm Trail Metropolitan Planning Organization and the Oklahoma Department of Transportation would cooperate and coordinate together on the performance targets. As the MPO went further along in the process, they may set their own targets, but at this point, they could adopt the targets set by the State.

Moved by Erin Crawford, seconded by Jon Blankenship, to recommend approval of the MOU for Performance Targets to the Transportation Policy Board.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

3. Review and recommend approval of the MOU for Transit Targets.

Moved by Erin Crawford, seconded by Jon Blankenship, to recommend approval of the MOU for Transit Targets to the Transportation Policy Board.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

4. Review and recommend approval of supporting ODOT Performance Targets.

Discussion was held regarding the ODOT Performance Targets and the area covered. Clarification was needed to determine if the Safety Performance Targets included all roads in the MPO, or interstates, which Enid did not have, and NHS roads.

The Oklahoma Department of Transportation was required to set these targets, and the MPO's then had one hundred eighty days to either accept the targets or set their own. It was noted that the targets set in the document presented were for the entire State of Oklahoma. At this time, it was an important step to set targets so they could move forward with developing a TIP and receive funding, however, in time, they could amend the targets for only specific areas covered by the MPO.

Moved by Jerald Gilbert, seconded by Keston Cook, to recommend approval of supporting ODOT Performance Targets to the Transportation Policy Board.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

5. Review and recommend approval of supporting ODOT Transit State of Good Repair Targets.

Discussion was held regarding the ODOT Transit State of Good Repair Targets. The Enid Public Transportation Authority had set these targets in their TAM Plan. It was noted that although the EPTA did not have some of the items included in the targets in their rolling stock, it was a state requirement to set these targets now, in case they obtain them in the future.

Moved by Keston Cook, seconded by Erin Crawford, to recommend approval of supporting ODOT Transit State of Good Repair Targets to the Transportation Policy Board.

Carried by the following votes:

Ayes: Jerald Gilbert, Murali Katta, Erin Crawford, Keston Cook, Leroy Alsup, Jason Dockins, Jon Blankenship, Brock Spencer, Sarah McElroy

#### 4. ADJOURN.

There being no further business to come before the Committee at this time, Chairman Gilbert adjourned the meeting at 1:55pm.